Skip to main content

COZAD WINS LILY: Whitko's Dylan Cozad honored with Lily Scholarship

April 2, 2012

COLUMBIA CITY — Dylan Cozad of South Whitley has been named the recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Whitley County Community Foundation 2012 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

Dylan will receive full tuition to the Indiana college of his choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

Dylan is the son of Daniel and Susan Cozad, and the older brother to Evan Cozad. He plans to major in Actuarial Science at either Butler University or Hanover College.

During his high school career, he has been an active participant on the Whitko Cross Country and Track Teams as well as the National Honors Society and numerous club activities.

Dylan is the valedictorian of his class at South Whitley High School.
“I am extremely honored to have received this scholarship and excited to be given the opportunity to pursue a quality college education,” said Dylan. “I would like to thank my teachers and coaches who have challenged me academically and athletically and my family for always supporting me.”

This year, 46 applicants participated in the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship selection process. The WCCF scholarship committee narrowed the field to four nominees. Nominees included Joshua Wilkinson of South Whitley, Kara Jackson of Columbia City, Brandi Herron of Churubusco and Dylan Cozad of South Whitley. One finalist and one alternate were chosen to be sent to Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. for the official selection of the recipient.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach high levels of education.
Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. There have been 142 scholarships awarded statewide.

Whitley County has had a total of 30 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship recipients, including Dylan, since the first scholarship was awarded in 1998.

COLUMBIA CITY — A slow start by Columbia City’s Lady Eagle softball team and patience at the plate...
LIGONIER — Churubusco’s Lady Eagle softball team banged out 13 hits and used a six-run second...
AKRON — Whitko’s girls tennis team picked up a conference win at Tippecanoe Valley High School...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes