GIS: Task force forming

COLUMBIA CITY — Whitley County is ushering in a new committee in the hopes of improving communication and knowledge between departments.A previously formed Land Committee will now be defunct to make way for a new board, to be known as the Geographical Information Systems (GIS) Task Force.The GIS Task Force will consist of members from several different departments and will serve to help one another learn what decisions are made by specific departments and how those decisions affect other departments within the county, according to GIS Coordinator Dan Weigold.Confirmed members of the GIS Task Force are Weigold; Cathy Broxon-Ball, director of emergency management; Brandon Forrester, county engineer; Angela Heath, county assessor; Marilyn Hively, assessor for Columbia Township; Scott Jones, E911 department head; Jen McGuire, county auditor; Tom Rethlake, county commissioner; Rita Saunders; Dave Sewell, executive director of planning and building; Mike Snelling, auditor’s office tax deputy.The group is tentatively scheduled to meet three to four times a year.___For a more in depth look at this story, see the Jan. 20 issue of The Post and Mail. Don't have a subscription? Call (260) 244-5153 or subscribe to our e-edition. For breaking news, sports updates and additional coverage, bookmark the homepage and find us on facebook.