HAZARDOUS HEAT: 79 at 5 a.m. and 100 for Tuesday high, NWS issues heat advisory

COLUMBIA CITY – WITH THE TEMPERATURE AT 79 DEGREES AT 5 A.M. TUESDAY MORNING, THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE HAS REPEATED A HAZARDOUS HEAT ADVISORY FOR TODAY WITH TUESDAY AFTERNOON HIGH AT OR NEAR 100 DEGREES.FROM THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE:HEAT ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/THIS MORNING TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING...HAZARDOUS WEATHER... * RECORD HIGH TEMPERATURES AROUND 100 ARE EXPECTED THIS AFTERNOON. * HEAT INDEX VALUES WILL PEAK AROUND 105. * VERY HOT CONDITIONS ARE EXPECTED ACROSS MUCH OF THE AREA AGAIN ON WEDNESDAY.IMPACTS... * THE ELDERLY...CHILDREN...PEOPLE WHO SPEND LONG PERIODS OF TIME OUTDOORS DURING THE DAY...AND THOSE WITHOUT AIR CONDITIONING ARE PARTICULARLY VULNERABLE TO THE EFFECTS OF HEAT.PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...A HEAT ADVISORY MEANS THAT A PERIOD OF HOT TEMPERATURES ISEXPECTED. THE COMBINATION OF HOT TEMPERATURES AND HIGH HUMIDITYWILL COMBINE TO CREATE A SITUATION IN WHICH HEAT ILLNESSES AREPOSSIBLE. DRINK PLENTY OF FLUIDS...STAY IN AN AIR-CONDITIONEDROOM...STAY OUT OF THE SUN...AND CHECK UP ON RELATIVES ANDNEIGHBORS.TAKE EXTRA PRECAUTIONS IF YOU WORK OR SPEND TIME OUTSIDE. WHENPOSSIBLE...RESCHEDULE STRENUOUS ACTIVITIES TO EARLY MORNING OREVENING. KNOW THE SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS OF HEAT EXHAUSTION AND HEATSTROKE. WEAR LIGHT WEIGHT AND LOOSE FITTING CLOTHING WHENPOSSIBLE AND DRINK PLENTY OF WATER.TO REDUCE RISK DURING OUTDOOR WORK THE OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY ANDHEALTH ADMINISTRATION RECOMMENDS SCHEDULING FREQUENT REST BREAKSIN SHADED OR AIR CONDITIONED ENVIRONMENTS. ANYONE OVERCOME BYHEAT SHOULD BE MOVED TO A COOL AND SHADED LOCATION. HEAT STROKEIS AN EMERGENCY...CALL 9 1 1.