WHITKO ARTISTS SHINE: Students garner art awards

SOUTH WHITLEY — For 28 years Whitko High School has celebrated budding artists.Under the tutelage of Walt Malicki, students have been awarded many championships and honors. This year was no different. Competing against high school artists in northeast Indiana and northwest Ohio, Rebekah Brenneman won the American Vision Award. Danielle Graves won Gold Portfolio.Competing in the State Resolution contest, held at the Indiana State House, was Keaton Irwin and Ivory West. They received the Republic of China Awards.Kelly Reiff won the award from Huntington University with “Hoosier Salon.” Her artwork will be on display in Indianapolis in September. Whitko students also entered the REMC Consumer Electric State Calendar contest, and two students’ artwork was chosen to appear in the annual calendar. In a 12th consecutive win for WHS, Cagny Craig won first place and $200. She will be featured for the month of November. Danielle Graves won honorable mention, $50 and will be featured in December. The artwork for the calendar was judged on artistic merit, originality, creativity, how well the assigned month is depicted and suitability for a wall calendar.Many WHS students were named finalists in the calendar contest. Finalists are Safari Wright, Aly Nicodemus, Deanna Shockney, all freshmen. Sophomores were Abby Marshall, Kirstyn Womack, Taylor Zwick, Jessica Tolson, Monica Broce, Kelly Reiff and Miranda Terrill. Juniors named finalists included Stephanie Wheeler, Reid Whaley, Trevor Bouer, Laura Hippensteel and Rose Jones. Seniors included Colin Nicodemus, Rebekah Brenneman, Karissa Olinske and Rachelle Snyder.In the Lakes, Rivers and Streams Art Contest, sponsored by Grace College, WHS swept the event in the upper classman categories. Finalists were Daniel Zawlocki, Kurri White, Becca Thomson, Alex Stoddard and Katee Reiff. In the junior and senior division Rebekah Brenneman won first place; Danielle Graves, second; Jesse Warner, third and Stephanie Wheeler and Laura Hippensteel each won honorable mention. In the ninth and sophomore division Kelly Reiff won first place, Abby Marshall won second while Morgan O’Reilly won third and Kirstyn Womack received honorable mention. The students’ artwork is currently on display at Whitko High School.