Skip to main content

Wildcats’ take season opener

March 21, 2012

Post and Mail photo / Nicole Ott Whitko’s Jude Stieglitz and Dallas Asher took first and second, respectively, in the 800-meter run Tuesday in the Wildcats’ home opener against Southwood.

SOUTH WHITLEY — Whitko’s boys and girls track seasons began Tuesday with wins over Southwood.

The boys won 87-35 and the girls defeated Southwood 83-39. Both teams combined for 26 first-place finishes.

Connor Stouder, Jordan Sims and Micaela Sylvester led the Wildcats, winning two events apiece. Sims and Sylvester swept all four hurdle races. Stouder won the 100- and 200-meter dash.

Alec Wilkinson won the pole vault by five feet with a 12-foot vault. Jude Stieglitz won the 800-meter run with a 2:09.0 time, with teammate Dallas Asher three seconds behind for a second-place finish.

Brandon Nettrouer won the 400-meter dash and TrapperMize came in first by less than a second in the 1600 run.

Both teams swept the relay events. Mize, Asher, Derek Miller and Dylan Cozad won the 3200-meter relay. Sims, Stouder, Caleb Wilkinson and Brady Herendeen took the 400 relay and Caleb Wilkinson, Sims, Nettrouer and Kuyler Bailey were on the 1600-meter relay team.

Herendeen also placed second in the 100 dash behind Stouder and came in second in the long jump with a 17 foot-3 inch leap.

Dana Hobbs and Derek Snep took first in the shot put events. Snep threw two feet farther than his closest opponent at 48-feet 1.5-inches.
Miranda Terrell won the high jump, leaping six inches higher than Southwood at 5-feet-1.

Sydney Sims won the pole vault (6-feet-6). Melanie Kelsey won the two-mile run by almost two minutes with a 15:34.00 time.

Both teams are back in action Tuesday at Wabash.

View more articles in:
INDIANAPOLIS — The Columbia City High School Eagles’ boys’ volleyball team traveled to Indianapolis...
SOUTH WHITLEY— Baseball is the American pastime and basic fundamentals are still at its core. If a...
INDIANAPOLIS —The Indiana boys Junior All-Star team for 2015 has been announced. The...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes