City trio recognized by NHC

   As the Columbia City boys’ basketball team went home with a sectional championship Saturday night, the three Eagles that led in scoring in a 67-66 win over Wawasee had another reason to celebrate.
   Monday, the Northeast Hoosier Conference announced its all-conference teams.
   The NHC was a conference filled with sophomore talent in the 2010-11 season. That also included Columbia City.
   Five sophomores made the first-team list with Columbia City (17-5) garnering two of those.
   Behind only Carroll senior Tyler Ault, Eagle sophomore Drew Benedict received the most votes among the eight head coaches casting nominations.
   As Columbia City heads into the class 3A Blackford Regional Saturday, Benedict leads the Eagles with 17 points per game.
   Sophomore Derek Hinen joined Benedict on the first team as the floor general of the Eagles. Hinen pulls in 8.7 points per game and dishes out 3.9 assists.
   Holding down the paint for Columbia City, senior Tyler Mosher’s 5.0 rebounds and 62.8 field goal percentage lead the team.
   Mosher averages 7.3 of Columbia City’s 51.9 points per game.
   A 7-0 record and a NHC championship for Homestead had head coach Chris Johnson earn the coach of the year.
   The Spartans tied the Chargers and Norwell for the most players on the all-conference list with four.