ELECTION DAY: Nov. 6 nears, early voting begins

COLUMBIA CITY — With absentee voting officially open as of Tuesday, citizens are encouraged to vote early at the courthouse during the available scheduled hours.Citizens may also vote early by mail with forms from the clerk’s office or by traveling board. Election Day is Nov. 6.According to Debbie Beers, Clerk of Circuit Court, the 2012 General Election Candidates include the following:County TreasurerRepublican Laurell HodgesCounty CoronerRepublican Frederick DellingerCounty SurveyorRepublican Ron McNealCounty Commissioner District #1Republican Tom RethlakeCounty Commissioner District #3Republican Don AmberCounty Council at Large (3)Republican William (Bill) Overdeer, Republican Paula Reimers, Republican Thomas Western, Democratic Steve Heaston, Democratic Wes Pease and Democratic Greg Racioppi.Smith-Green Community Schools District 2 (Smith Township)Gary SmithSmith-Green Community Schools District 3 (Green Township-Noble)Nicholas UeckerWhitko Community Schools District 1 (Monroe and Washington Townships-Kosciusko)Philip Menzie and Georgia TenneyWhitko Community Schools District 3 (Cleveland Township)Joseph BegleyWhitley County Consolidated Schools-Columbia CityStanley (Stan) MeyerWhitley County Consolidated Schools-Etna Troy TownshipJill Western Whitley County Consolidated Schools-Jefferson TownshipWilliam Tucker, Jr. and Kevin TurnbowWhitley County Consolidated Schools-Union TownshipDeborah HissWhitley County Consolidated Schools-Washington TownshipJames RenbargerThis list is also available online at www.whitleygov.com/egov/docs/1264780182105.htm.The hours for absentee voting at the clerk’s office, located in the courthouse at Room 18 on the second floor, are Oct. 9-12 from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; Oct. 15 to Nov. 2 from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; Oct. 13 and 20 from 8 a.m. to 12 p.m.; Oct. 27 and Nov. 2 from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. and Nov. 5 from 8 a.m. to 12 p.m.