Whitko runs to back-to-back conference titles

   AKRON — This winning thing is beginning to repeat itself for Whitko boys’ cross country.
   A season after claiming a Three Rivers Conference title, the Wildcats were back Thursday to defend it.
   With all five runners in the top 10, Whitko had no trouble doing so with second-place Rochester not within reach 29-68.
   Like they have all season, the Wildcats were led by two runners Trapper Mize and Brian Menzie. Together the two ’Cats held down the top two spots with Mize beating out Menzie with a time of 16:01.
   Three other Wildcats got in the top 10. Brody Wilson finished in seventh place. Jude Steiglitz placed ninth, just ahead of teammate Dallas Asher, who rounded out the top 10 with a time of 17:27.
   Mize, Menzie and Wilson all earned all-conference honors with a top-eight finish in the race.
   Other finishers in the boys’ race were: Trent Walther 18th and Wade Eberly 35th.
   The Lady Wildcats placed fifth with 120 points ahead of sixth-place Wabash.
   Senior Aubrey Smith earned an all-conference spot of her own placing a team-best third in the girls’ race with a time of 21:15.
   Other Lady Wildcats finishing were: Holly Frantz 23nd (23:57). Rylie Snep 31st (24:50), Christena   Hoopingarner 32nd (24:55), Becca Thompson 35th (25:30), Jocelyn Krull 40th (26:43).
   Dylan Cozad  and Jon Crosson ran in the junior varsity boys’ race. Cozad was fifth and Jon Crosson was sixth. David Johnson finished 21st.